Interview with Pro Physique Competitor Andrea Boudreaux

Ageless Beauty: Physique competitor Andrea Boudreaux poses after winning a pro card at the 2014 North Americans.

New Champ: Physique competitor Andrea Boudreaux poses after winning a pro card at the 2014 North Americans.

Most people in their twenties or thirties would be happy to look as good as Andrea Boudreaux does today. The 52-year-old personal trainer from New Orleans says her youthful look is owed mostly to family genes, but a longtime passion for fitness has certainly played a part in the development of this remarkable mother of two kids currently attending college.

Even more impressive, Andrea reached another milestone this year when she claimed a pro card in the women’s physique division at the NPC North Americans. It was the fifth show overall for the 5-foot-2 short class standout, but just her first ever on a national level. She was only a few weeks removed from big wins at the NPC Cajun Showdown in her home state, where she swept the physique open, novice and over-35 categories even though she was the oldest competitor on stage.

The former state Taekwondo champion hasn’t always been in perfect shape. After her second child was born, she tipped the scales at over two hundred pounds and later endured knee surgery, but her lasting commitment to health and fitness helped overcome difficult challenges. Just take a look at some of the pictures from her shoot in Pittsburgh during the weekend of her pro card win — Andrea’s great overall look is highlighted by a chiseled upper body, pitch perfect conditioning and absolute cover girl level beauty.

Armed & Dangerous: Andrea reps with 30lbs for curls to sculpt her signature biceps.

Armed & Dangerous: Andrea reps with 30lbs for curls to sculpt her signature biceps.

These days, weekends tend to be quiet as Andrea uses Friday nights to prep meals for the upcoming week and treats herself to a cheat meal on Saturday. But if the absence of a social life is redeemed by something, it might start with those shiny new trophies on her mantle, that pro card, and that amazing reflection she gets in the mirror.

Last week, I caught up with the wonderful new pro to get some thoughts on her win and a look at what’s next in her journey.

Dean: What areas did you target in your training to prepare for North Americans and how did it feel coming away with a pro card in Pittsburgh?

Andrea: “The target to prepare for North Americans was leaning down my legs! I only trained hard for 12 weeks before the show. I decided very late to do the Cajun Showdown and from my progress getting ready for that show, my trainers convinced me to go to Pittsburgh. It was and still is a very surreal feeling that I got my pro card on my first attempt on a National stage with so little prep time. I immediately thought to myself once I was awarded it, ‘ok, now it is time to get serious!'”

Dean: Any plans to do a pro show next year?

Up Next: The personal trainer plans to make her pro debut at the Emerald Cup next May.

Coming Up: The personal trainer plans to make her pro debut at the Emerald Cup next May.

Andrea: “I plan to make my pro debut at the Emerald Cup in Seattle in May. I started training for it two weeks after I got the pro card. Trying to gain size in areas that I need to be competitive on that level.”

Dean: Do you have some favorite sports that you played growing up or still play for fun?

Andrea: “Tennis was my favorite sport and I ran cross country, but I do neither now. Weight training, teaching spin class and a group class that does HIIT, as well as personal training are my sports now.”

Dean: You must get so many compliments on your fit and healthy look. Can you share a story of a time when you surprised someone with your physique or strength?

Andrea: “I wish I could, lol. I do not get many compliments actually. In my area I am very much not the norm. I get stared at a lot but not always favorably. In the gym when I am lifting, some guys look in surprise or awe but I am rarely approached with a compliment. Many who are not that strong just make comments that I lift more than them. It seems more people are surprised at my physical fitness for my age than anything.”

~ by Dean Sucich on October 27, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
