Healthier Danny J Recovering After Metabolic Damage

Walking Away: Danny J during a shoot in 2009 after one of her last shows. “I do not miss competing. I did for awhile, but now I enjoy what I have been doing, volunteering, mentoring others,

Walking Away: Danny J in 2009 after one of her last shows. “I do not miss competing.” she says today. “I did for awhile, but now I enjoy what I have been doing, volunteering, mentoring others…”

A tale about the dark side of competing has a happy ending. Many fans already know former figure girl Danny J stepped away from the stage a few years ago after some intense contest prep and dieting—heavy carb-depletion, three-hour cardio, etc—brought on unsteady post-contest weight gain and severe metabolic damage. It led to physical and emotional struggles that baffled even one of the best and most sought-after personal trainers. She talks about it here.

Danny consulted countless doctors and professionals and tirelessly researched her condition to find answers. She shared her findings for women in similar situations, documenting her progress in more videos (click to see parts one and two of her Fixing my Metabolism series), and thankfully now reports to be almost fully recovered.

The dream to win a pro card in this sport will always be a top quest, but it’s profoundly counterproductive when extreme dieting and contest prep starve bodies and jeopardize the health, well-being and happiness that is kind of the point of being in shape in the first place.

Always a favorite even before she came on our site, Danny is still one of the most popular and knowledgeable of all personal trainers and nutrition experts as well as one of the friendliest personalities in the industry. It wasn’t easy but her MD battle left her stronger and smarter than ever; it’s wonderful to hear she’s feeling happier and healthier these days.

I was happy recently to have caught up with her to get a bit of the scoop on her move from Las Vegas to Dallas, how she’s been doing and what she’s up to lately.

* * *

Dean: You relocated not too long ago after being pretty well established in Las Vegas. Have you enjoyed the move? How is Dallas treating you?

Healthy Glow: Danny J still does personal training, but is happy and enjoying life away from the competitive stage. Photo credit: Matt Faxon Photography.

Healthy Glow: Danny J still does personal training, but is happy and enjoying life away from the competitive stage. Photo credit: Matt Faxon Photography.

Danny J: “I had a hard time actually moving but I’ve been in Dallas a year now and I LOVE it. Vegas will always be home, but I love being in between New York and LA and I have been traveling a lot. Flights are cheap in and out of Dallas.”

Dean: I know you suffered from metabolic damage and are no longer competing. Has your body fully recovered from those effects? Are you feeling healthier?

Danny J: “I have not fully recovered but I am feeling 100% healthier. The last thing I need to do to recover is take a REAL break and I plan on doing that this December.”

Dean: Do you miss competing at all or are you happier not having to deal with the stresses and hazards of the dieting and contest prep? Are you still doing personal training?

Danny J: “I do not miss competing. I did for awhile, but now I enjoy what I have been doing, volunteering, mentoring others, travel, etc. I do still do personal training, but it is less and less and more and more of training TRAINERS on their businesses and social media.”

Dean: Are you still involved in the industry such as going to shows, expos or doing photoshoots?

Danny J: “Yes, I just went to the Dallas Europa and the Olympia, but I’ll be honest, I hope that will be my last expo. I have just found that I can make more money doing other things and helping more people than I can working at booth. My favorite part of booth work has and always will be meeting and talking to old friends and fans.”

Dean: You’re about to launch a new website with some interesting stuff that I can tell you’re excited about it. Can you share a little bit about this new chapter of your health and fitness life? When will the site debut and what kind of vision and goals do you have in mind?

Danny J: “I just started a new business this year called Social Academy, where my friend and I teach others how we have had success and make money on Social media. I also have a workshop called Inspiration & Perspiration which is the project I am MOST proud of. I bring 35 women together for a very empowering weekend that is life changing. I can’t be happier with the direction that I am going now and it took my struggles and my journey to get here.”

~ by Dean Sucich on November 9, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
