Interview with IFBB Bikini Pro Stacey Naito

Bikini Pro Stacey Naito poses during a shoot at the 2013 NPC USAs.

Bikini Pro Stacey Naito poses during a shoot at the 2013 NPC USAs.

There are plenty of bikini fans out there and we’re about to get serious about this division which has improved steadily each year since it began. The talent is especially good at the pro level and today we’re featuring one of the newest IFBB members, Stacey Naito, who was the 35 and 40-plus masters champ of the B class at Team Universe this past summer, earning a pro card after over twenty competitions in four years.

Stacey has experience in gymnastics but otherwise was more of a bookworm than an athlete growing up, concentrating instead on school and a longtime desire to become a doctor—a dream she ultimately caught, becoming a physician specializing in cosmetic dermatology with a degree in Osteopathic Medicine from Western University of Health Sciences. The lifelong resident of Southern California also holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Exercise Science from Occidental College in Los Angeles.

Intrigued about weightlifting but never imagining it would lead to competitions, Stacey was encouraged to try the bikini division in 2009 and quickly collected several top finishes. The finely chiseled 5-foot-5, 117-pounder recently joined Team Bombshells and along with hard work in the gym—filling out shoulders and arms on her upper body and tightening up quads, hamstrings and calves in her legs—the ambitious and accomplished 47-year-old brunette has risen to the top of the masters class and into the bikini pro ranks.

* * *

Dean: What kind of sports did you play growing up and throughout high school or college? Are athletics what led you to compete?

Stacey's stats: Age: 47, Height: 5’5”, Weight: 117 lbs. contest, 121 lbs. off-season. Hometown:  Hollywood, California.

Stacey’s stats: Age: 47, Height: 5’5”,
Weight: 117 lbs. contest, 121 lbs. off-season. Hometown: Hollywood, California. Earned pro card at 2013 NPC Team Universe.

Stacey: “I was involved in gymnastics as a child but did not engage in athletic activities in high school due to my focus on educational pursuits. Once I was in college I began weightlifting because I was fascinated with it and never stopped. What led me to compete was the desire to show off my hard-earned muscle onstage, but I waited until I was in my early 40s before daring to do so.”

Dean: Could you give some of your contest history? What shows are you planning to do next?

Stacey: “I have competed since 2009 and have 21 contests under my belt, 14 of them Pro-qualifiers. Here are some highlights, in chronological order:

·        *IFBB North American, August 2010 – 1st Place Masters Bikini C, 3rd Place Open Bikini C

·        *NPC Masters Nationals July 2011 – 1st Place Masters Bikini C

·        *IFBB North American, August 2011 – 1st Place Open Bikini C, 2nd Place Masters Bikini C

·        *NPC Pittsburgh, May 2012 – 1st Place Masters Bikini B, Masters Bikini Overall Win, 3rd Place Open Bikini C

·        *IFBB North American, August 2012 – 1st Place Masters Bikini C, 7th Place Open Bikini C

·        *NPC Team Universe, July 2013 – 1st Place Masters 40+ Bikini B, Masters 40+ Bikini Overall Win, 1st Place Masters 35+ Bikini B, 4th Place Open Bikini D, IFBB Professional Status

“I am planning to hit the stage either by the end of the year or in the spring of 2014. There has been a lot of pressure to return to the stage this year, but I want to make sure that I am ready to really tear it up when I compete as a Pro.”

Star in the Making: Check out Stacey’s Youtube channel for recipes, nutrition facts and tips, training segments, posing practice, contest interviews, candid moments and more capturing the life of this very ambitious and accomplished competitor.

Star in the Making: Check out Stacey’s Youtube channel for recipes, nutrition facts and tips, training segments, posing practice, contest interviews, candid moments and more capturing the life of this very ambitious and accomplished competitor.

Dean: How has your training been going? Which improvements to your physique have made you most proud lately and are there any areas you are trying to tighten up?

Stacey: “I always train like a beast, whether I have an upcoming contest or am in a so-called ‘off’ season. Lately, I have really packed on some quality muscle in my delts, arms, quads, hams and calves, and the glutes are definitely more muscular as well. I will forever blast my glutes in order to make them as round and tight as possible and to combat the half-Asian booty curse!”

Dean: Have family and friends been supportive of your competitive lifestyle? What type of comments have you gotten?

Stacey: “My family and friends are for the most part very supportive of my competitive lifestyle and make sure to tell me how much of an inspiration I am to them. They may not understand my rigid clean eating habits or my intense training regimen, but they are supportive nevertheless. Many of my friends tell me that I am one of the strongest and hardest working people they know, and that my determination is refreshing.”

Dean: What are some of your goals for working and competing in the industry? Do you have any role models in the sport that have particularly inspired you?

Stacey: “I want to become a household name! I intend to work on branding as much as possible to promote myself as the IFBB Pro Doctor! Dr. Khanh Nguyen inspired me when I first began competing in 2009 because of her career as a physician, her IFBB Pro status, and the fact that she was a Masters competitor. An ultimate goal is to have my own talk show as the female version of Doctor Oz, presenting topics pertaining to medicine, health, anti-aging, fitness, and nutrition.”

Brunette Bombshell: Look for Stacey to make her pro debut by next spring

Brunette Bombshell: Look for Stacey to make her pro debut by next spring.

Dean: Since competitors are in such great shape, it can often be a shock to the average person. Can you describe a moment when you surprised someone with your physique or strength?

Stacey: “I get frequent comments from patients who are surprised by the definition in my shoulders, arms and legs. They are often blown away and want to know what I do to get such a sculpted physique. I am also quite accustomed to hearing people at the gym tell me that the intensity of my workouts is impressive and that they have never seen any woman work out as intensely as I do.”

Dean: Are you also a personal trainer? Please feel free to mention your website, social media links or anything else you want to use to help promote you!

Stacey: “I offer comprehensive contest prep coaching for NPC Bikini and Figure competitors. Details can be found at CutCurves.com. I also offer nutritional overhauls, weight management and personal training services.  For those who are in the Los Angeles area, I offer sports medicine, weight management, problem focused medical care, Botox and fillers at offices in Beverly Hills and downtown L.A. (UrbanMed.com).

“I have a blogsite which covers everything from fitness to nutrition, medicine, skincare, etc., and I post on it DAILY, so please check it out at drstaceynaito.wordpress.com. I am also very active on YouTube (StaceyNaito), Twitter (@StaceyNaito), Instagram (@StaceyNaito), and Facebook (Stacey-Naito-IFBB-Bikini-Pro).”

~ by Dean Sucich on October 5, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
